is a Bolivian non-governmental organization that seeks ideas and proposals in order to foster a sustainable rural development of indigenous and peasants populations. Central to our work is a commitment to an equitable and sustainable use of natural resources, particularly land and territory.

TIERRA´s approach combines research activities with actual work in the field. Our community includes researchers, rural development professionals, activists, and community leaders. Jointly, we support indigenous and peasants organisations to ensure their active participation and to strengthen their agency.

TIERRA´s work hinges around five major themes: Food Security with Sovereignty, Agrarian and Rural Transformations, Land Reform and Land Titling, Women´s Access to Land, and Indigenous Autonomies.

Our work so far

TIERRA was created in 1991 although it was legally established in 1994 by Supreme Decree Nº 214316. Since its inception, the institution has pledged to land reform, indigenous rights, and inclusive agrarian policies. It was focused on the elaboration of policy proposals aiming for a rural development with greater participation of indigenous and peasants populations. As a matter of fact, TIERRA played an important role in the debate and elaboration of key legislative pieces – such as the Popular Participation Law (1994) and the Land Reform National Service Law (1996) – as well as the chapter about Land and Territory in the new Bolivian Constitution (2008).

More than a decade ago, TIERRA established three regional offices throughout the country. In so doing, it has been able to work closely with some of the most vulnerable rural communities in Bolivia. The institution provides support in conflicts over the use of natural resources, legal assistance to ensure people´s property rights, and shares knowledge and information with relevant actors. TIERRA´s national office and its highlands regional office are located in the city of La Paz where as its valleys and lowlands regional offices are located in the cities of Sucre and Santa Cruz, respectively.